Women Education Leaders of Virginia Leadership Awards

The Outstanding Service to Education Award, established in 2012, is presented to a leader who has made a particularly significant and unusual contribution to education in Virginia and who has served as a role model and mentor to emerging female leaders.

Recipients: Sylvia Henderson, Principal, Albemarle County, Posthumously, 2012

Pat Wright, State Superintendent of Public Education 2014

Sarah Spruill Armstrong, Assistant Professor, Easter Mennonite University, Posthumously, 2017

Pam Moran, Superintendent, Albemarle County, 2018

Amy Griffin, Superintendent, Cumberland County, 2019

Laura McCullough, Executive Director, VASCD, 2020

Purpose of Award

This award is presented to a woman leader who is a highly accomplished and effective leader in Virginia and has a stellar record of educational service in Virginia. She has made an impact on education at the local, regional, state and/or national levels. She has served as a role model for
those who will follow as female leaders. Her service has resulted in the advancement of women in leadership.

Criteria for consideration

Wide-reaching influence

Deep impact on education

Effective leadership

Notable accomplishments

Service to the profession beyond normal job responsibilities.

Participation in WELV through membership and attendance at conferences

Commitment to the mission of WELV to promote women in all areas of education and to further the participation of women in higher levels of educational leadership.

WELV Awards

WELV’s Award Program recognizes distinctive achievements by women leaders in Virginia public education. And our broad community of WELV supporters plays a crucial role in helping us to select deserving winners. Acting on nominations from the community, the WELV Board of Directors examines the full range of a potential winner’s accomplishments as they relate to and reflect the purpose of each award. Winners are celebrated at our Annual Conference in March.

Mentor Award

Regional Woman Leader of the Year

Spirit Award

Outstanding Service to Education Award

Rising Star Female Leader Award

Breaking the Glass Ceiling Award