Outstanding Service to Education Award

2019 OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO EDUCATION AWARD Nominations Due by Monday, February 3, 2020
Send Nomination Materials to Elaine Fogliani


Established in 2012, this award is presented to a leader who has served as a role model and mentor to emerging female leaders and has made a particularly significant and unusual contribution to education in Virginia.


The award is given to a woman leader who is a highly accomplished and effective leader in Virginia with a stellar record of educational service. She has made an impact on education at the local, regional, state, and/or national levels. She has served as a role model for those who will follow as female leaders. Her service has resulted in the advancement of women in leadership.


  • Wide-reaching influence
  • Effective leadership
  • Notable accomplishments
  • Service to the profession beyond normal job responsibilities
  • Active participation in WELV and commitment to our mission
  • Strong interest in promoting women in all areas of education
  • Committed to furthering the participation of women in higher levels of educational leadership
  • Deep impact on education


2017 Sarah Spurill Armstrong (posthumously)

2014 Pat Wright, Virginia State Superintendent of Public Education

2012 Sylvia Henderson, Principal, Albemarle County (posthumously)


If you would like to nominate a candidate for the 2020 Outstanding Service to Education Award, you are asked to submit the following documents:

1. A letter nominating the candidate. This letter should provide evidence of how the candidate fulfills the specific criteria stated in the description of the award.

2. A resume of the candidate.

3. Two letters of recommendation from individuals who know the nominee well and can speak to her accomplishments.

These materials should be sent electronically to Elaine Fogliani, the Executive Director of WELV, by Monday, February 3, 2020


The Nominations Committee of the WELV Board will review completed nomination packets and make recommendations, based on stated criteria, to the full WELV Board for a final decision. The award is given as appropriate; it may not be conferred this year. If the Board selects a winner of the 2019 award, it will be bestowed on her at the WELV Annual Conference in Charlottesville on March 13, 2020.